RECAP: Subway Schools U19C Boys All-Ireland Cup Final

RECAP: Subway Schools U19C Boys All-Ireland Cup Final

  • Mar 16,2016
Subway Schools U19C Boys All-Ireland Cup Final

Colaiste Treasa Kanturk 67, Colaiste Oiriall 46

Colaiste Treasa Kanturk proved too strong for their Monaghan opposition in the Subway Schools U19C Boys All-Ireland Cup Final. A side featuring Cian Clernon of National League side C&S Blue Demons beat Colaiste Oiriall 67-46 at the National Basketball Arena. 

It was Clernon who scored the first 11 points of the game for his side in a first quarter which looked to settle the game as a contest. Colaiste Oiriall were full of endeavour but couldn’t prevent the Kanturk boys from building a 35-18 margin by half time. Oiriall’s defence improved as the game went on but Kanturk duo Cameron Hendry and Evan Murphy found their groove in the second quarter. 

Colaiste Treasa were up against an improved offence in the third quarter. Oiriall Captain Jack O Daighre netted his second three-pointer while Dylan McCionna also broke double-digits. 

Colaiste Treasa’s Evan Murphy was named MVP with 22 points with Clernon finishing on the same tally. 

Colaiste Treasa Kanturk: Cian Clernon, Evan Murphy, Paul Walsh, Cameron Hendry, Eanna Mernagh. Substitutes: Ryan Palmer, Jack Murphy, William Mullane, Dillon Corkery, Cathal O’Donoghue, Jordan Corkery, Eric Dineen.
Coach: John Brosnan
Assistant Coach: Denis Reen
Top Scorers: Cian Clernon 22, Evan Murphy 22, Cameron Hendry 7

Colaiste Oiriall: Oisin O Murchu, Dylan Mac Cionna, Jamie Mac Murchu, James De Burca, Cian Mac Giolla Comhail. Substitutes: Shane Mac Cionna, Ruairi Mac Cionna, Cian O Conraoi, Conor O Dughaill, Jason Mac Ghiolla Bhride, Darragh O Tuathail, Marcus O Miochain, Jack O Daighre, Cillian Mac An Fhailigh, Cormac O Anluain.
Coach: Deirdre Nic Cionnaith
Assistant Coach: Annette Ni Thuathail
Top Scorers: Jack O Daighre 12, Dylan Mac Cionna 10, Conor O’Dughaill 7

HT: Colaiste Treasa Kanturk 35, Colaiste Oiriall 18
MVP: Evan Murphy (Colaiste Treasa Kanturk)

Official Partners