Ireland Senior Men's Euro Squad Announced

Ireland Senior Men's Euro Squad Announced

  • May 17,2016
Ireland Player Coach Colin O’Reilly has finalised his 12-man squad to compete at the FIBA European Championships For Small Countries in Moldova in June. Just two players remain from the last time Ireland contested a European Championships in 2009 including O’Reilly and Templeogue’s Conor Grace. Grace is one of three players named from Hula Hoops National Cup Champions Templeogue while four of the squad are from Premier League Champions C&S UCC Demons including Kyle Hosford and brothers Adrian and Ciaran O’Sullivan. The squad will be co-captained by Conor Grace and Kyle Hosford.

Jordan Blount makes the step up to Senior level having been the top scorer at the FIBA U18 European Championships in 2015. Keelan Cairns and Kevin Lacey are two of seven players who were part of the Hibernia squad in the inaugural FIBA Europe Cup while Paul Dick is one of the seven survivors from the Sino-European Championships in China.

Brian Fitzpatrick will be making his first appearance in an Irish jersey. The 6’8’’ forward is the grandson of the late Cavan native Edward S. Fitzpatrick who was a sergeant in the NYPD. Fitzpatrick is starting forward for 2016 Danish League Champions Horsens IC (10.9/4.4/1.0) and played US College Basketball with NCAA Division 1 side Bucknell University. 

“The players who have carried over from the Sino-Europeans and Hibernia have valuable experience at an elite level,” said Player Coach O’Reilly. “There are also some younger guys in there now who maybe weren’t ready last year but have an x-factor that gives them an edge on guys who might have better stats over the course of a season. 

With five games in five days, that is the kind of blend we need. We’ve gone with players who can play and up-tempo game and fit well into our system.” 

Ireland Senior Men’s European Championship Squad: 
Jordan Blount (University of Illinois, Chicago - USA)
Keelan Cairns (Belfast Star)
Paul Dick (Pyrobel Killester)
Brian Fitzpatrick (Horsens IC - DEN)
Conor Grace (Templeogue)
Kyle Hosford (C&S UCC Demons)
Stephen James (Templeogue)
Kevin Lacey (GCD Swords Thunder)
Lorcan Murphy (Templeogue)
Colin O Reilly (C&S UCC Demons)
Adrian O’Sullivan (C&S UCC Demons)
Ciaran O’Sullivan (C&S UCC Demons)

•The International Programme is self-funded.
•International Sponsorship information is available at
•Ireland have been drawn in Group A of FIBA Men’s European Championships for Small Countries (June 28th to July 3rd) alongside San Marino, Malta and Gibraltar.
•Ireland’s Senior Men will be competing at the FIBA European Championships for Small Countries for a fifth time. 

Coaching, Management and Technical Staff:
Head Coach: Colin O Reilly
Assistant Coach: Puff Summers
Assistant Coach: Joey Boylan  
Team Manager: Troy O Mahony
Physiotherapist: Maura Murphy
Strength & Conditioning Coach: Deirdre Morrison

Official Partners