Ireland Senior Women's Euro Squad Named

Ireland Senior Women's Euro Squad Named

  • May 26,2016
The Ireland Senior Women’s Basketball Squad that will compete at the FIBA European Championships for Small Countries in June has been named. 

12 players will make the trip to Gibraltar in June with Mark Scannell as Head Coach assisted by Coaches Paul Kelleher and Francis O’Sullivan and Team Manager Grace O’Sullivan. 

Captain Orla O’Reilly, Sarah Woods and Claire Rockall are the only three surviving members of the last European Championships Squad named in 2009. Rockall is one of four players from the Team Montenotte Hotel side who became the most successful club in women’s basketball history this season. 

“It was a very difficult process,” said Mark Scannell. “There were a lot of variables and we needed cover in the right positions. I hope to see players who missed out coming back into the frame after the summer with the right structures in place.”

With a month to go until the start of the championships, the players will be stepping up their training in the coming weeks. “It’s a big commitment,” said the Head Coach. “The players are doing more that what they’d be doing during the club season.”

Ireland Senior Women’s European Championship Squad:
Michelle Clarke (Pyrobel Killester)
Sinead Deegan (Maxol WIT Wildcats)
Grainne Dwyer (Team Montenotte Hotel)
Casey Grace (Team Montenotte Hotel)
Aoife McDermott (DCU Mercy)
Aine McKenna (Team Montenotte Hotel)
Aine O’Connor (Courtyard Liffey Celtics)
Danielle O’Leary (Singleton SuperValu Brunell)
Orla O’Reilly (CB Bembibre)
Claire Rockall (Team Montenotte Hotel)
Amy Waters (Singleton SuperValu Brunell)
Sarah Woods (DCU Mercy).

FIBA Women’s European Championships for Small Countries: 
Gibraltar, June 26th – July 3rd, 2016.
Group A: Moldova, Ireland, Wales.
Head Coach: Mark Scannell., Assistant Coaches: Paul Kelleher, Francis O’Sullivan, Team Manager: Grace O’Sullivan.


Official Partners