O'Neill names initial Ireland U20 Men's Squad

O'Neill names initial Ireland U20 Men's Squad

  • Dec 24,2015
The initial Ireland U20 Men’s Squad for 2016 has been announced. 

Following an open trial in Dublin on December 22nd, 23 players have been selected to work with Head Coach Darren O Neill and Team Manager Conor Lilly. 

The squad’s first official training session will be on Sunday January 3rd at 11:00 in St. Vincent’s in Glasnevin. 

A final squad of 12 will compete at the FIBA U20 Men's European Championships (Division B) from July 15th to July 24th, 2016 in Halkida, Greece. 

Of the 23 players named, 10 are playing in this season’s Basketball Ireland Men’s Premier League while four are based in the US. 

Five players competed in this year’s European Championships at U18 level (Jordan Blount, Tariq Guebaili, Martin Neary, Stephen O’Hanlon, Joseph Tummon) while six players played at the same level in 2014 (Charlie Coombes, Sean Candon, Sean Flood, Conor Gilligan, Eoghain Kiernan, Diarmaid O’Shea). Both sides finished in 22nd place. 

Gary Barron is the sole survivor from the U16 European Championship squad that finished 20th in 2011. 

The squad of 23 is as follows:

Cillian Armstrong (Templeogue)
Gary Barron (NUI Maynooth/KUBS)*
Jordan Blount (University of Illinois at Chicago, USA)*
Graham Brannelly (IT Tallaght)
Seán Candon (NUI Galway/Moycullen)*
Charlie Coombes (Southeastern Oklahoma State University, USA)*
Kyle Cunningham (NUI Galway/Moycullen)
Sean Flood (Templeogue)*
Conor Gilligan (DCU/St. Vincent’s)*
Tariq Guebaili (St Aidans/St. Vincent’s)*
Christian Healy (Coláiste Chilliain)
Eóghain Kiernan (Maynooth University/Killester)*
Cian Lally (Summerhill College/Sligo All Stars)
Martin Neary (St. Vincent’s)*
Michael O'Donnell (UCC/St. Brendan’s)
Stephen O'Hanlon (Trinity-Pawling School, New York, USA)*
Diarmuid O'Shea (University of Limerick/UL Eagles)*
Jonathan Pesaitis (University of Limerick/UL Eagles)
Muhamed Sabic (DCU/Dublin Lions)
Lee Sherlock (Summerhill College/Sligo All Stars)
Cian Sullivan (St. Andrew’s School, Rhode Island, USA)
Joseph Tummon (NUI Galway/Moycullen)*
Aaron Whelan (Ard Scoil Rathangan/Kestrels)

* Denotes previous attendance at European Championships. 

Official Partners